What You Need To Know About the Changes in Your Compact License

2018 will be a year of big changes. One of the bigger changes for the nursing industry is the change in the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Effective January 19th, 26 states will be a part of the new Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC). In this blog we will break down some key changes in the compact license and how it will affect you.

Overview of the Changes


eNLC MapCurrently there are 27 states that have joined the eNLC compact, while three other states are currently in Legislature to figure out if they would also like to join. The eNLC was even able to add five new states that have never been compact before. Even though the eNLC has been able to add a lot to the compact states, sadly there are three states that have chosen to not join the eNLC and will stay in the NLC compact. We discuss those states and what that means to you in the NLC section of the blog.

How to apply for the eNLC Compact

Making sure your license is good to go for January 19th has been a big part of the discussions online. There are certain factors to follow in order to make sure you’re good to for this January. First and for most if you received your license from a compact state before July 20th 2017 you’re grandfathered in to the eNLC compact. Now this does not apply to the new states that will be joining the eNLC. If you’re one of the nurses who’ve received their license after July 20th or in one of the new states who are joining, you must eNLC New Statesapply for the eNLC through your home state board of nursing.


The Five New States Joining the eNLC Compact

As mentioned above there are five new states that have decided to become compact in the ENLC compact. The five states are Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming. As stated earlier, you’ll have to apply through your home state board of nursing for the eNLC compact. The links provided here are for the each states board of nursing.

Florida: http://floridasnursing.gov/

Georgia: http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/45

Oklahoma: http://nursing.ok.gov/index.html

West Virginia: http://wvrnboard.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Wyoming: https://nursing-online.state.wy.us/Default.aspx



eNLC possible statesThe Current States that are Considering Joining the eNLC Compact

As of now, there are three states that are currently in legislation to decide if they will join the eNLC compact come January 19th. The three states are Massachusetts, Michigan, and New Jersey. If legislation approves, they will join 27 other states in the eNLC compact.

Wisconsin was in legislation; however the Governor signed the bill December 12th making Wisconsin become a part of the eNLC. The links below provide up-to-date information on where each state is at the process.

Massachusetts: http://bit.ly/2AnxzHx

Michigan: http://bit.ly/2ew2Rxm

New Jersey: http://bit.ly/2kDx4ls



eNLC - states not joiningThree Current Compact States Not Joining the eNLC Compact

Currently In the NLC, there are currently three states that have decided not to be a part of the new eNLC compact, but will stay in their own NLC compact. The three states are Colorado, New Mexico, and Rhode Island.

NM, CO, and RI residents will still be able to use their current compact license, but it will only be compact for these three states. If they wish to travel to other compact states in the eNLC compact they must obtain a single state license for every other state. To learn more about how this affects you, links to each state’s board of nursing are provided.

Colorado: http://bit.ly/2iDaWU6

New Mexico: http://bit.ly/2A3Dltv

Rhode Island: http://bit.ly/2kEVxXF


Requirements for the eNLC Compact

As you’ve discovered in this blog there are a lot of changes going into effect January 19th. In order to make sure nurses are able to start using their compact license right away, the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) has provided information about the requirements for the state license.

Reminder: Nurses with an original NLC multi-state license will be grandfathered into the eNLC, if you obtained your license before July 20th, 2017. New applicants must meet the 11 requirements (see info graphic) to join the eNLC.

Those who do not meet the new licensure requirements may still be eligible for a single state license.

If you would like to learn more or have questions, leave us a comment below. Also check out NCSBN for the most up-to-date information.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *